Fleetwood Town 4 Crewe Alexandra 0

editorial image

Four goal Fleetwood Town dumped holders Crewe Alexandra out of the Johnstone’s Paint Trophy

Jon Parkin could have put Fleetwood ahead in the second minute, a weak backpass leaving him one-on-one with Steve Phillips, the Crewe keeper with a vital save.

The visitors dominated possession but created little and Fleetwood grabbed the lead six minutes before the break.

A quick counter attack, Liam Hogan flicking it through for David Ball, an emphatic finish from the edge of the box.

And Town doubled their lead before the break, Gareth Evans with a cross from the left, Parkin with a deflected header at the back post.

Nathan Pond made it three with a cool finish just after the interval before Crewe launched a belated assault - Scott Davies with some superb saves to keep the League One side at bay.

But it was Fleetwood who added to their tally, Matty Blair sliding in to convert Stewart Murdoch’s cross a minute from time to seal victory.

Fleetwood go into the third round for the first time in their history along with Chesterfield, Carlisle, Oldham, Rochdale, Hartlepool, Notts County and Rotherham.