Fleetwood Town 0 Oldham Athletic 3

editorial image

Fleetwood Town were dumped out of the Lancashire Senior Cup by Oldham Athletic for a second consecutive season.

Town named a mix of youth and experience to face the Latics, first team regulars Liam Hogan, Stewart Murdoch and Matty Blair among the starting eleven, alongside club skipper Mark Roberts and big striker Jon Parkin.

There were also starts for a number of youth team players and younger professionals, including home-grown talent Richard Wright.

Town started the brighter but found themselves a goal behind when Roberts sold David Lucas short with a back pass, Kirk Millar cutting in to fire the Latics ahead.

And the visitors were able to double their lead before the break, again from a defensive error.

Former Manchester City Under-165 Lanre Olapade felled Johnson Clarke Harris on the edge of the area, the Oldham man getting to his feet and firing across a free kick which centre half Dominic Barrett turned into his own goal.

Town came back strong after the break and could have pulled one back when Parkin got a free header in the box, the ball looping over the bar.

Matty Blair had already been denied a strong penalty shout when he connected with another wicked cross, former Blackpool keeper Paul Rachubka with a fine save to deny the winger.

Fleetwood couldn’t make chances count and were made to pay three minutes from time, Kyle Hardman with a low cross, Chris Sutherland turning the ball past a sliding Lucas to seal victory.

Chris Lucketti, who managed the Town side, was far from downbeat.

He said: “I think the scoreline is flattering.

“We’ve created some good chances and there were some fantastic performances from our side.

“All the lads who are part of the first team have showed how they are ready to come straight into the side.

“It’s been a great experience too for our younger players.

It’s ended in defeat but we’ve created plenty of chances.

“It’s a lesson that, in football, you have to take them.”

Fleetwood: Lucas, Hogan, Olapade, Murdoch, Roberts (c), Barrett, Blair, Wright (Wainwright 80), Parkin, Willoughby (Lazenbury 56), Crowther

Subs not used: Martin, Vaughn Muscat, Smith